Why I Left The Southern Poverty Law Center And Why You Should Too

Southern Poverty Law Center

FYI, I am not a conservative and from 1978 to 1980 I participated in 13 civil rights marches and was seriously injured four times. I bled for the cause.

I don’t share this information with you to brag but to justify what I am about to say.

For several decades, I was a member and ardent supporter of the SPLC. As a USDOJ instructor and adviser I would advise federal and state law enforcement agencies to use the SPLC data for investigations.

Then several years ago I noticed a disturbing trend, Southern Poverty Law Center was not covering leftist domestic terrorist organizations. And more importantly they began to move outside of white supremacy and adding other topics that were contrary to the focus of their original charter.

These topics aligned with the standard rhetoric of leftist groups in the U.S.

The foundational focus of the organization had blurred.

I made my concerns known to them and was politely responded to but nothing changed.

Several federal, state and regional police agencies that I work with also noticed the trend and mentioned their concerns to me.

SPLC was clearly not going to change.

Sadly, I had a similar experience in 1980 when I gave up my membership with the NAACP.

I have never been an arm-chair critic of racism, anti-government actions or extremist violence. I have been in the fight for decades personally and professionally and my body bears the scars of that fight.

I am sad.

Leave a Reply

